There might come a time in your life where a simple disagreement turns into a physical altercation. This is typically not the desired outcome of either party, but things can escalate quickly when tempers flare and you might end up needing an assault lawyer. A neighborly dispute regarding overgrown grass can turn into two neighbors on the ground throwing punches.
It should have never gotten to this point, but now that it has, legal consequences can follow. And you will need to speak to a personal injury lawyer immediately. If you are not the aggressor in the situation, you may be entitled to seek compensation for any injuries incurred. You will need the help of an assault lawyer in New Jersey to do so.
What is Simple Assault that Assault Lawyer Can Help You With?
In New Jersey, a simple assault is considered any act that inflicts bodily injury to a person. It must have negligently caused bodily injury and any attempts to put someone in fear of serious injury. This can sound complicated to most people, which is why it is essential to consult with a personal injury lawyer if you or a loved one have been in a physical altercation. Depending on the number of people involved, it can be considered either a disorderly person’s offense or a petty disorderly person’s offense.
Simple Assault vs. Aggravated Assault
There are two types of assault that a person can be charged with, simple and aggravated. It is essential to know the difference when meeting with your personal injury lawyer. Simple assault is less severe than aggravated assault which means the penalties and consequences will vary.
Aggravated assault is when a person uses a weapon or intends to cause serious bodily harm to another person. It is also essential to be aware of what is considered a serious bodily injury. An assault lawyer in New Jersey is well versed on the topic, and serious bodily injury often includes:
- Injury resulting in a significant risk of death
- Loss of bodily function, organs, or any of the five senses
- Permanent disfigurement caused by the injury
You do not have to navigate these complex legal terms on your own but instead should discuss them with a personal injury lawyer.
The Consequences of Simple Assault
A simple assault charge is considered a misdemeanor, while aggravated assault is a felony and has varying classification degrees. Penalties for each will also differ because of the difference in severity. A simple assault can lead to up to six months in jail or fines of up to $1,000.
An aggravated assault can vary depending on the degree, but it can range from 18 months to 10 years in prison, with fines ranging from $10,000 to $150,000. As explained by our assault lawyer in New Jersey, any criminal charge can end up on your permanent criminal record, which can be life-changing for any person.
Contact an Assault Lawyer in New Jersey
As a victim of an assault, you have rights. Our assault lawyer in New Jersey will work to get you the compensation you are entitled to if you have been injured by someone else. Our personal injury lawyer has experience handling cases just like yours. Contact the Law Offices of James C. DeZao, P.A., at (866) 802-2698 today.